Blend Tool Tip 2


If you want to get a nice color transition without relying on the ineffective linear gradient or the radial gradient then it’s best to rely on the blend tool. Sometimes the gradient mesh can produce a really effective color transitions but that can be a slow and monotonous process but that’s where the blend tool comes in. For example, I will try to make a realistic pawn figure without using the gradient mesh(which took forever and didn’t turn out quite well). Just follow the steps and you will see what I mean.

  1. First make a pawn figure than copy it(holding option+shift or alt+shift) and move it slightly to the right.
  2. If you can guess right, I probably know that I will use the pathfinder to cut up the pieces together.
  3. Delete the middle part and color each of the sides different (preferably black and gray).
  4. use the blend tool to connect these parts(you’ll get an X when you hover the first part, click it then hover over the other side to get a + and then click that to connect them together).
  5. Play around with the blend tool by doubling clicking it in tools menu. I played around with the steps(click spacing and choose specified steps and then change the number on the side).
  6. You can also change one side’s color by clicking it with the white arrow(don’t use the black arrow or you will select the whole thing). I change mine to a dark gray and it turned out well.

About Fadi G.

I am a digital artist and I hope to push the bounds of creativity. I will produce videos, illustrations, animations, and more interesting things.

Posted on January 30, 2010, in Blend Tool, Pathfinder, Tips. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I live on my computer, with Apple Mail open.

  2. Tres bien! These small things simplify life easier.

  3. I tried it! Now I just have to find a use for it.

  4. I like Illustrator, but I like photography and light painting better.

  5. I really appreciate little tips like this. You really are the king of illustrator. I would really like to spend more time in Illustrator, but I have so much other work to do.

  6. Whenever you want!!!!!

Leave a Reply

